92nd Reunion - November 25, 2012

The 92nd annual reunion of the Tyson and May families provided a time of fellowship for the 85 plus present at the Major Benjamin May DAR Chapter House. Reunion President Mickey Tripp welcomed everyone and invited Bob Newton to make announcements regarding several pertinent items: He introduced the recently-hired director of the May Museum and Park, Deb Higgins and her husband. Museum hours are 10:00 am-3:00 pm Tuesday—Friday. The annual Christmas Tea is scheduled for 3-6pm on Sunday, December 9 and everyone is invited. Bob also recognized and thanked Angela Hearne, Group Editor for Cooke Communications, who was present and shares news of the Reunion through The Farmville Enterprise. Mickey and daughter, Leighann, beautifully rendered the traditional "The Tyson-May Reunion Prayer" which he wrote to honor his mother's memory and to celebrate the fellowship shared by the families present. A "hat was passed" to help defray the expenses of the Reunion and to continue efforts to update the family records.

Following a delicious Parker's Barbecue catered meal and visits throughout the Chapter House, everyone assembled for the program and business. Introduced by Bob Newton, acoustic guitarist Mike "Lightnin" Wells presented a delightful program of music. Using various types of guitars, harmonica, ukulele and whistling, he entertained everyone with his folksy style.

Board member Brenda Brown offered a lovely memorial service and lighting of a candle for family members lost since the last reunion.

During the business portion of the gathering, the minutes of the 2011 meeting were read and approved. Secretary and DAR member, Judy May, updated the reunion about the improvements made to the house and the opportunity to purchase commemorative bricks to honor people or events. Jane Little, treasurer presented the financial report for approval—copy attached to minutes.

Board member Rachel Bailey reported for the Nominating Committee that all officers have agreed to continue serving, with Mickey Tripp and Elizabeth Borum reversing positions as required by the reunion by-laws. (Tyson and May representatives rotate president annually from one family to the other). Therefore, the following were nominated and elected unanimously:

President: Elizabeth Borum (May)
Vice-President: Mickey Tripp (Tyson)
Secretary: Judy Ratley May
Treasurer: Jane Hobgood Little
Receiving Genealogists: Bernice and Bob Newton
Director of Technology Resources: Joseph Moore
Board Members:
Mozelle Tripp Nichols (Tyson)
Ann Pearce Lanier (May)

Mickey invited incoming President Elizabeth Borum to speak. She encouraged everyone to come again next year and to bring other family members. There being no other business, all joined in the traditional singing of “Blessed Be the Tie” and the meeting was adjourned until 2013.

Judy R. May, Secretary